I’ve Lost My Mind

Okay, so I’ve come to a new conclusion about how to perceive a lost mind.

People say “Aw, they’re nuts” “they’re insane”, but they don’t see what I see.

A lost mind hasn’t vanished, nor does it show anything about mental capacity. It merely suggests the absence of a mind. Absence means it isn’t present, but it doesn’t mean it never will be.

Think of a lost mind not one of decreased mental capacity, but of one that simply isn’t there. When a train derails, does it mean it’s vanished, that it’s working any less than another train? Of course not, it’s merely not on the track it’s “supposed” to be on, the track that’s seen as normal. It uses the same amount of energy to drive on with no specific course. It goes on, driving through uncharted territory, spending energy on something other than its original purpose.

Let me ask you, is a lost mind the opposite of a normal one?

No, it’s merely the absence of one.

Is cold the opposite of heat. Of course not, we cannot measure how cold something is, merely how much heat it lacks.

Is death the opposite of life? No, it’s merely the lack thereof. We can measure vital signs, essentially measuring life and the quality of it, but we cannot measure how dead someone is. Death is the absence of life.

What about darkness, perceived as the opposite of light when it’s, in reality, the lack of light.

Can we measure how tired someone is? No, but we can draw conclusions of the severity of fatigue based on the amount of sleep they did or did not get.

How about sickness, can we measure that? No, it merely the absence of good health, meant to return to us given we take care of ourselves or let the sickness run its course.

Emotions can be perceived the same way.

Can we measure weakness? No, we measure the lack of strength.

Is sadness the opposite of happiness or just the mere absence of it.

Are anger and anxiety the opposites of calm or the emotions we perceived with the absence of calm.

These examples are not to say light, life, heat, happiness, and calm will never return to us. They’ve merely left us for a time. That energy is used but for something other than its original or desired purpose.

A lost mind isn’t to someone is insane. Is isn’t to say anything about their mental capacity or lack thereof. It merely states that their mind is not present where it should be at the given time. We use tests to measure someone’s mental capacity because we cannot measure how stupid they are, just knowledge they do not possess.

All these opposites aren’t really opposites, merely degrees of absence or lacking. It doesn’t mean we will never be strong, happy, healthy, or the latter. It just means we lack something at a given time.

Take my mind for example; I lose it countless times a day. When I stare ahead at nothing lost in the abyss of my thoughts, I’m fully functional. I’m aware of my surroundings. My mind derails and it’s energy is used to explore the expanses of wherever it may go. It leaves me, and it wanders. Sometimes it returns with a conclusion or thought process such as this, leading me to perceive things differently. Sometimes it leaves and returns with a voice that may not entirely seem to be my own.

I lose my mind, but that’s not to say that it’s vanished or dysfunctional in any way. It’s merely absent at the present time.

Our perception of insanity, which can be seen as absence of sanity, comes from a connotation from the phrase “lost mind”. We perceive that as a negative concept, when really a lost mind is nothing more than it states, a mind that is lost, whether it be within itself, miscellaneous thoughts, or the expansive possibilities in the universe. It is lost, not gone.

I’ve lost my mind and will continue to do so, waiting for it to return with whatever thought it sought out.

Before I’d written this, my friend inquired about the way I’d communicated my thoughts, the “sophisticated manner” I’d been doing so. I told her that when my mind leaves me, it may return with a voice not entirely seeming like my own. So I leave you with this, you’ll be surprised where a lost mind can wander and what it may eventually return with.

Conclusion reached: November 20, 2015

 

Leave a Reply

