30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 18 – Facts

Post 30 facts about yourself.

  1. My favorite color is blue.
  2. I don’t know how to ride a bike.
  3. I have many nicknames including Squirtle and Shanaynay.
  4. I despise my real name for various reasons.
  5. I’m right handed but can do certain things with my left hand like play darts.
  6. I still email some of my high school teachers, quite frequently, in fact.
  7. I loathe having my picture taken and try to avoid it whenever possible.
  8. I don’t wear make-up but have done so on only three or four occasions in my life.
  9. I make up or continue stories in my head as I’m trying to go to sleep.
  10. I talk in my sleep, though few people have been able to tell me anything I’ve said.
  11. I fear most insects and arachnids as well as heights.
  12. I find it easier to go up stairs than down them. It may have something to do with my balance or fear of falling/heights.
  13. I’m a huge fan of the following celebrities: Carrie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson, Julie Andrews, Cassidy Freeman, and Emily Blunt.
  14. While I love writing with all my heart, it wasn’t always my first thought for a career choice. If you’d asked me some years ago, I could’ve said a singer or a cook.
  15. I like doing domestic chores such as washing dishes, folding laundry, dusting, or vacuuming. I like to see things clean and organized, and I only get angry about doing chores when I know I’m doing more than my fair share.
  16. I was born at 24 weeks, at 14 1/2 inches tall and weighing a whopping 2 pounds 2 ounces.
  17. My eyes change colors. While they’re usually brown, they can change to hazel or green as well.
  18. Rocking back and forth is my stim which I do almost constantly, either to the beat of music or in general. I cannot control it well unless I’m in a situation or position where it’s inappropriate or uncomfortable to do so.
  19. Most, if not all of my joints crack, though that rarely causes me pain.
  20. I need music to function, whether it’s the same song for hours or my absent-minded humming, it needs to be there.
  21. I once read an 812-page thesaurus in an hour and a half.
  22. I’ve read the dictionary as well, which took about 4-6 hours.
  23. Because of my anxiety disorder, I constantly battle with the thought that I’m nothing but a burden on other people.
  24. Slamming doors, the opening of canned beverages, and the flick of a lighter are all triggers for my anxiety.
  25. I only recently figured out my sexual orientation, and none of my family knows.
  26. I once ate part of a stick of butter when I was young, around 4 or 5, and I still don’t know why. My family doesn’t let me live it down.
  27. I go into a weird trance whenever I see a bright moon, usually full or close to full.
  28. I’m currently practicing two languages: German and Spanish but at one point I practiced eight daily.
  29. I was baptized Catholic but always went to Lutheran church, and now I just tell people I’m Christian to save time. *I am open to learning about and practicing anything I see fit, so even the Christian label might be limiting.*
  30. Because of a caffeine sensitivity I developed close to my freshman year of high school, I can no longer drink or eat highly caffeinated products like soda, coffee, energy drinks, etc. Chocolate is one of the few things I can still tolerate with caffeine.

 

Leave a Reply

