30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 23 – Letter to Lost Sister

Write a letter to someone, anyone.

 

Dear Taylor,

 

Hey, Sissy! I know you’re not really here right now, but I hope you can still somehow see this. I visited your bridge and tried my best to build a snow angel to keep you company on Christmas. It’s the first holiday I’ve spent with you in almost fifteen years, and I wish it could’ve different.

I miss you so much. I just wanna hear your voice, remember something with you in. I try, I really do, but all I get are images of your funeral. You were so cold then, sissy.

Why couldn’t you have just been sleeping? Why did you have to go so soon? I’d settle for one good dream, as long as I could remember your voice. I don’t think it’s too much to ask. Maybe it can be my present from you this year. You know Mom still gives us little things from you. Usually something with angels so we know you’re there. I know cause you like to remind me every day. You can stop messing with my music and my card games. Don’t think I won’t tell on you!

I love you, Tay! I wanna see you. I wanna hear you again. I just…want to spend Christmas with you, one that I can remember. I know it’s too much to ask, but I’d settle for a dream of you. Then I think I’d be okay. Just make it a good dream.

 

I love you, sweet butterfly Sissy!

 

-Shayna

10 thoughts on “30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 23 – Letter to Lost Sister

  1. Ashutosh Gursale says:

    Oh wow, this was sweet. I’ve never had a sister but I do write to an imaginary sister of mine when I feel low. You must be really brave hearted to share it. Wonderful👌

    Like

Leave a Reply

