30-Day Writing Challenge: Day 30 Highs and Lows

Write about your highs and lows for the month.

Okay, we’ve made it to the last day! Woohoo! Let’s jump right into it.

Lows: 

Getting guilt tripped at home – I go through this a lot at home, and it’s one of the reasons I didn’t want to come home. I spent most days couped up in my room, trying to avoid cigarette smoke which wasn’t fun at all.

Getting into fights with family – Not only did I get guilt trips, my family and I fought a considerable amount this month. My remedy for that is usually to avoid them or causing trouble for them. Luckily, I’ll be heading back to the dorm on the eighth of January.

Carrie Fisher and Debbie Reynolds’ deaths – Okay, I have to admit, I haven’t seen them in much of anything, but I loved what I’d seen or heard of both of them. Carrie was an unabashed version of herself who gave everyone something to strive for, and Debbie just oozed light and good will from what I’ve seen. Both beautiful ladies who were taken far too soon.

Post-holiday slump – Y’all know the feeling. The great food vibe wears off, and you become aware and ashamed for eating so much junk. The holiday cheer and look to things dims so everything kinda seems grayer.

 

Highs:

College life and Finals – Okay, I have to admit, as much as school stresses me out, I’m loving the taste of freedom and being on my own for the first time. Finals week was short and as far as I know, I aced them all. Test wise, I lucked out because I only had two normal tests. For History, it was open notes, so it wouldn’t be fair to call that a formal test, and I had a speech and a short write up in place of an exam.

This 30-Day Writing Challenge – Okay, call me a nerd, a workaholic, whatever! I had a blast doing this challenge because not only did I step beyond my shell for so many posts, I actually posted once a day for 30 whole days! I couldn’t have done it without throughdanielleseyes, who put me up to it. Thank you so much!

Getting to spend time close to the holidays with my boyfriend – I know, I know. He’s getting a ton of mentions in this challenge, but he definitely is a high point in my life. Baby, I love you, and I hope we spend more time together soon.

Christmas – Exchanging gifts with the family is great, and you can never miss the holiday food.

Feedback from you guys – That’s a high point every time, but because of the activity this month it seemed more prevalent. It’s great to hear from you, and I hope you keep it up!

 

Okay guys, I hope I ended this on a happy note despite starting with the downers. If y’all have any prompts or comments to make, you know you can drop them in anytime! Have a wonderful New Years, stay safe, and celebrate the beginning of 2017! Make it a year to remember!

-Author S

Leave a Reply

