Last Letter

My beloved,

I’m sorry I’m late, but I’m here now. I’m coming, and I won’t stop until I’ve brought you back home with me. Wherever you are in your nightmares, I’ll find you.

Just hold on a little while longer, Anika. I’ll be with you soon. I’ll battle till the bloody end if that’s what it takes. Besides, there’s someone on the other side, the Waking World as he calls it, that wants to meet you, and it’d be a crime to disappoint him.

Hold tight, and keep fighting my love.

May our strength be enough to pull through…

-Fletcher

 

I finished off the note near tears and tucked it under her hands. I rested one atop the other on her chest and laid beside her.

“Ready, my boy?” Wright peered over the two bodies.

“Yes, sir. As ready as I’ll ever be.”

“Fletcher, you have every right to be afraid, but from what I’ve seen when you talk about this young lady, you’ll find her. You’ll bring her back.” He smiled and gripped my shoulder.

“I won’t stop until I do.”

“That’s the spirit. Remember, I can only bring you back to rest a few times, so be careful.”

“Yes, sir.”

“And Fletcher?” Wright raised his eyebrows.

“Sir?” My eyes widened as he leaned in.

“When you come back with her, make sure you both start callin’ me Wright.” He clapped his hand down on my shoulder and sank down in the chair at the bedside.

I grinned and closed my eyes, waiting to become a Wakeless.

 

Leave a Reply

