Nuclear Confession

“Okay, I got one.”

I smirked and rolled on my side. “Go for it.”

He gestured into the sky. “What would you do if the world was ending, and you only had two hours left?”

I opened my mouth to start, but he held up his hands.

“No hiding, no escaping, you’re gonna die in two hours.”

“Okay, Jay. Two hours to death. What do I do?” I paused and gazed up at the sailing clouds. “Wait, how does it end?”

He scoffed and rolled his eyes. “It doesn’t matter. Just assume you’re gonna die in two hours.”

I shook my head. “No, Jay. It matters. How do I go down?”

“Aubrey, that’s not the point. What do you do with the last two hours of your life?”

I pursed my lips and closed my eyes. “Nope, not answering until you come up with the end.”

He pushed me onto my back. “Nukes! I dunno… Just answer the damn question!”

I smiled. “So stereotypical… Fine, so I’m assuming I can’t try to stop them.”

“Nah, just live your life for two more hours.”

My eyes popped open, and I held my fingers up, counting. “Read a book, take a walk, confess my undying love, pun intended.”

He shifted over. “Wait, Bree, that’s it? That’s so… simple.”

“That’s the point! I have two hours, so I mean, it’s not like I can do a lot. I may as well do the things I like, right?”

His head dropped on the grass, and he folded his arms beneath it. “I guess, but wouldn’t you want to go out doing something exciting?”

“Confessing my love isn’t good enough for you?”

“Well yeah, but you’re gonna wait ‘til the last second? What good is that?”

I sat up, took his hand, and dragged him to his feet. “Come on, I want to show you something.” I tugged Jay along the dirt path away from the top of the hill.

“I’ve seen the lake, Bree. Nothing new there.”

“Just shut up, and follow me!” I darted ahead of him, laughing as groaned.

We ducked through trees, weaving through shortcuts to make it to the rounded lake in time. I stopped at the oldest weeping willow. The leaves billowed and drooped, blocking our view of the water. Jay caught up, huffing and gripping his knees.

“Jesus, what’s the rush?”

I took his hand, and brushed the cover away, stepping through the wall. “This.”

The watercolor painted gemstone sky reflected on the still glass. I turned to face Jay who stood, rooted to his spot with his mouth hanging open. After a few moments, he blinked and looked at me.

“Wow.”

I held up my index finger. “Now, imagine a green haze spilling over this. Raining fireballs ready to annihilate us.”

His eyebrows quirked. “Way to ruin the moment.”

“Well, you’re the one who wants the world to end. Spending our last two hours here in a sunset like this.”

“What about the other stuff? Your book and your walk.”

I tallied on my fingers. “Read a book this morning, and our walk up the hill was enough. We have seconds remaining, fireball coming straight for us.”

He closed the gap between us. “You forgot one thing.”

I turned to him, gripped his shoulders, and lifted myself into his arms, pressing my lips against his. Jay stumbled and landed on his behind, landing me in his lap.

“Good enough for you?”

7 thoughts on “Nuclear Confession

Leave a Reply

