Scene Bank – Subway Ride

I shifted to the corner seat, edging my way closer to the wall so others could squeeze in beside me. I stared down at my phone, plugging my earbuds in, clicking a song on and closing my eyes to drown myself in a world other than this one. A musky stickiness forced me to breathe through my mouth, choking down gasps of bile-inducing air as the stench of an overheated riding crowd collected in the air. I swear when I opened my eyes I could see a cloud of haze. I gripped my knees to my chest, curling into myself as I trembled in the midst of a shrinking space. Bodies glued themselves together in a wall too thick to move through, so I lowered my head to my knees, hyperventilating when the subway halted at the next stop.

Leave a Reply

