Day for Romance

“I’m only romantic on Thursdays.” Daniel laid back against the willow tree.

I crossed my arms. “Why Thursdays? Why not a day like Saturday or Sunday?”

One eye opened up. “Because, Thursdays are like false hope, you know? It’s near the end of the week, but it’s not the Friday night to finally wind down, the Saturday night to let loose, or the Sunday morning to sleep in and just… be.”

My eyebrow quirked. “Well, that’s poetic of you, but what can you do with a Thursday?”

Daniel chuckled. “What, I’m supposed to let you in on my secrets? Come on, Ria.” He put his hands up. “Okay. Well, I can take you to the aquarium and watch you explore and wish you could just touch them. Or the zoo, and listen to you coo and call to the baby animals as if they were your own pets. A six-o’clock movie would be good too.”

“Why six?”

“We’d finish up the movie at eight, go for a stroll in the city, and end up at the lakeside, sheltered under the willow.”

I scooted closer to Daniel, reaching for his hand. “Perfect for stargazing.”

He nodded with a smile. “Exactly.”

I laid my head on his shoulder, and he kissed my temple. “Looks like your plan didn’t work this time.”

He tilted my head up, touching his lips to mine. When he pulled away, his lips turned into a smirk. “I beg to differ. Did you forget what day it is?”

My eyes widened, and I shook my head laughing. “What should we do next week, then?”

“Well, seeing as you know about the zoo and the aquarium, I’ll have to step up my game.” He twined his fingers with mine, turning to the amethyst sky as it dimmed to let the stars sparkle.

He grinned. “How do you feel about skinny dipping?”

2 thoughts on “Day for Romance

Leave a Reply

