Nameless Love

She wrapped one arm around me, pulling me into a sideways hug. “I wish I could love you. You deserve it.”

I stepped back, taking her hands in mine. “You do love me, don’t you?”

She kissed my forehead. “You know what I mean. Of course, I love you, but…”

“You’re not in love with me.”

She nodded, squeezing my hands. “I’m sorry. If only things were different-”

I pulled her into a full embrace, lacing my fingers in her hair. “I wouldn’t trade you for anything. I’ve always loved the real you, and I wouldn’t change a thing, even if it means I have to keep looking.”

My shirt dampened as she cried into my shoulder. “See? This is what I mean. You give and give and give, and I never feel like I’m enough.”

I placed my lips to her temple. “You are enough. You always have been, always will be.”

She pulled back, still holding on, and I thumbed the tears from her eyes, cupping her cheeks. I placed one last kiss on her cheek before letting her go. She stepped away, and I turned back, creating a gap between us. I’d keep looking for someone I’d never find. If only…

Leave a Reply

