American Education

“How did you manage to fix all this?”

The mind pointed to the space

labeled ‘School’. “Where did the rest go?”

“I kept what I wanted based on interest.”

“What about the information you need?”

I shook my head, smiling. “I’ll just cram that

when I need it again.”

The mind paused. “I don’t understand.

Why don’t you just keep it?

Aren’t you supposed to learn it?”

I stared down at the textbook, tapping

my pencil on the desk. “Silly brain,

why waste the space? I’m never gonna

use this information, and I have no passion for it.”

“Then why bother with it in the first place?

Why cram and panic when you don’t even need it?”

I closed the book, sliding it into my backpack, waiting,

watching the teacher hand out the bubble sheets.

The thorn in my side. “I need to pass this test.”

“What about your other classes? Don’t they need space?”

“That’s what the delete button is for.”

My brain tensed as I got by bubble sheet.

“I don’t get the point of this, all these tests.

Is that what learning has come to, filling in circles,

regurgitating information just long enough to get a letter

stamped on a piece of paper?”

I chuckled. “You’re asking the wrong person.

You’d be better off asking the ones who created the

System, though between you and me,

I don’t think they know either.”

2 thoughts on “American Education

Leave a Reply

