What You’ve Done

When I speak with you

flames blossom in my veins.

Venom leaks from every word,

and ice swallows my heart whole,

creeping into my soul. I can

thank you for the steel in my spine,

for there was only so much

I could take. So many bruises,

scars, wounds untreated.

No longer will I play this

emotional game of

Manipulation Manhunt

as I search for a better example

of what you should’ve been.

Perhaps one day you’ll learn

though my hopes aren’t high.

I can’t afford to make that climb

just to come crashing down

yet again. If by some miracle

you do change, come find me.

Be prepared for I may spit poison

at you, build irons walls around

my healing heart. Time will be

your test. If there comes a day

when my fangs dull and flames

turn to embers, my heart, my soul

may finally thaw, but there will

always be steel in the backbone

you tried to break.

Leave a Reply

